The Cincinnati Bengals moved to a new venue, Paul Brown Stadium in the 2000 season. The Bengals uniforms colors are, orange, black, and white. Cincinnati Bengals are a National Football League (NFL) team playing in the Northern Division of the American Football Conference (AFC). In 2000, the Cincinnati Bengals moved to a new venue, Paul Brown Stadium. The franchise got it’s name from the the Cincinnati Bengals football team that played in the now-defunct American Football League between 1937 and 1941. The Cincinnati Bengals joined the American Football League (AFL) as an expansion team in 1968. The club was led by Paul Brown, who was a very successful coach during the 50s. Running back Paul Robinson, in his first season with the Cincinnati Bengals led the American Football League (AFL) in rushing and got the rookie of the year honors.

The Bengals made history by winning the first year

Cincinnati Bengals joined the National Football League (NFL) in 1970. The Bengals won the American Football Conference (AFC) Central Division in its first NFL season. In the playoffs the Bengals did not get very far losing in the first round. The Bengals were again guided by Brown to postseason appearances again in 1973 and 1975, Ken Anderson emerging as one of the National Football League’s (NFL) premier quarterbacks. Cincinnati Bengals lost again in the first round of the playoffs in 1973 and 1975. Following several coaching changes and mixed results over the next few seasons, the Bengals won the division crown in 1981 under head coach Forrest Gregg, a former offensive tackle and a member of the Hall of Fame.

Andersson and Pete were the best rookies!

Anderson won his fourth passing title, and running back Pete Johnson and rookie wide receiver Cris Collinsworth each gained more than 1,000 yards. In the playoffs, Cincinnati defeated the Buffalo Bills and the San Diego Chargers before losing to the San Francisco 49ers in the Super Bowl, 26-21. The Bengals remained competitive throughout the mid-1980s. Boomer Esiason replaced Anderson in 1985 and, like his predecessor, became one of the NFL’s premier quarterbacks. Following a 4-11 win-loss record in 1987, Cincinnati finished the 1988 season with a 12-4 mark.

Esiason won the first of his two National Football Conference passing titles and shared player of the year honors with Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Randall Cunningham. Running back James Brooks, wide receiver Eddie Brown, and tackle Anthony Munoz also starred in the America Football Conference’s top-rated offense. In the playoffs the Bengals advanced to their second Super Bowl of the decade. Once there, however, Cincinnati again lost to the 49ers, who scored a last-minute touchdown. In 1990 Cincinnati won its fifth division title. Esiason got his sixth consecutive 3,000-yard season. The Bengals have struggled in the 90s and between 92 to 94 they only won eleven games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>