The Denver Broncos have been one of the American Football Conference’s (AFC) most consistent teams since the mid 70s. From 1977 to 1999 the team reached the playoffs thirteen times and the Super Bowl six times. The Broncos are also one of a few teams to have won the Super Bowl in consecutive years. The Denver Broncos have won two Super Bowl titles, the XXXII and XXXIII editions. The Broncos became charter members of the American Football League (AFL) in 1960. Despite strong defensive units that included cornerback Goose Gonsoulin and tackles Dave Costa and Bud McFadin, Denver’s best AFL win-loss record was 7-7 in 1962. The Broncos joined the National Football League (NFL) in 1970. In 1973 the Broncos posted a 7-5 win-loss record behind head coach John Ralston, who won the coach of the year award. Running back Floyd Little and wide receiver Riley Odoms powered the American Football Conference’s (AFC) top-rated offense that year.

The Broncos improved alot during the 1970s

The Denver Broncos gradually improved through the 1970s and surprised the league in 1977 when they won a franchise record twelve games behind head coach Red Miller. The team captured its first-ever Western Division title with the AFC’s top defense, which was anchored by end Lyle Alzado, linebacker Randy Gradishar, and cornerback Louis Wright. Quarterback Craig Morton piloted a steady offense, and the Broncos advanced to the Super Bowl, where they lost to the Dallas Cowboys. Denver made the playoffs the following two seasons but fell in the first round each time. During the 11 years following the strike-shortened season of 1982, Denver made 7 postseason appearances. As a rookie, John Elway led the team to a playoff berth in 1983 and to 13 victories in 1984. In the latter year, wide receiver Steve Watson and running back Sammy Winder each enjoyed 1,000-yard seasons.

Fielded the AFCs top defense

The club once again fielded the AFC’s top defense, this time anchored by linebacker Karl Mecklenburg and safety Dennis Smith. Reeves guided Denver to three Super Bowls in four years during the late 1980s, but despite offensive units that featured Elway, running back Bobby Humphrey, and receiver Vance Johnson, as well as consistently strong defenses, the Broncos failed to earn an NFL championship. During the mid-1990s Denver remained a division power as the team’s offense added wide receivers Shannon Sharpe and Anthony Miller and running back Terrell Davis. The Broncos hired former San Francisco 49ers offensive coordinator Mike Shanahan as head coach before the 1995 season. A year later he guided Denver to thirteen regular season wins and an AFC Western Division title. In the playoffs, however, the Broncos were upset by the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Finished the season 1997 with a 12-4 win loss

Denver finished the 1997 season with a 12-4 win-loss record, earning a wild card berth in the AFC playoffs. Denver Broncos are a National Football League (NFL) team playing in the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC). The Denver Broncos play at Mile High Stadium in Denver, Colorado, and wear uniforms of blue, orange, and white. Longtime Broncos quarterback John Elway reached the NFL’s all-time top five in career passing yards, quarterback rushing yards, and completions. Former head coach Dan Reeves compiled one of the highest winning percentages (.581) in NFL history during his 12 seasons with the club. Under head coach Mike Shanahan, the Broncos captured the first Super Bowl championship in the franchise’s history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>